Anj’s Ramblings: Paperbacks or Hardbacks?

THIS POST IS A SCHEDULED POST.

*Anj’s Ramblings is a monthly feature where Anj rants about the things that have been a huge part of her life, certain things she’s passionate about and mundane things that you shouldn’t be reading about, but you are here anyway. It will also feature a lot of dramatic narration, sass, and wayyy more sarcasm than the normal level of what human beings can take in*

What I don’t understand: Why are paperbacks so underrated? Sure,there are a lot of paperback lovers out there, myself being one of them, but most people prefer hardbacks so damn much. I adore the looks and the feel of a hardcover, the nice sturdy covers that they have. Yet, I seem to be a paperback person. Not by choice, but by default, though if offered a choice, I’d definitely choose paperbacks. Paperbacks are easy to carry around; easier to handle and what’s more, they are not heavy and are comparatively lighter than hardcovers. And let’s face it, as far as affordability is concerned, the paperback wins. I ain’t giving my bucks just for one single hardcover when I could be buying two or why, even three paperbacks for the same amount. Don’t get me wrong, I flip out when I come across good deals with hardbacks and they instantly make me want to buy them. AND THEN, WHEN I CLICK ‘BUY’, THE WEBSITE SAYS THAT THEY’RE NOW OUT OF STOCK. WHAT PERFECT TIMING. Okay. Calm down, Anj. Let’s do this. 

*all gifs from le interwebs*

THE PROS OF PAPERBACKS: 

  • Economically preferable. 
  • Easier handling.
  • Throwing them in your tote bag when you’re going out: PERFECT.
  • Lighter and DO NOT HURT YOU WHEN THEY FALL ON YOU.
  • Are very co-operative as they let you haul dozens of them without you heaving or panting or sweating  (Jk, they’re as savage as hardcovers when it comes to inflicting injuries)
  • Did I mention that they give happiness to your wallet?(or your parents’ wallet?)
  • They’re the format of books which can be accessed easily.
  • Awesome, because YOU MAKE YOUR PARENTS FEEL HAPPY!

    THE CONS OF PAPERBACKS:

    • ARE VULNERABLE LITTLE BEANS.
    • Get damaged pretty quickly.
    • Do not have beautiful dustjackets.
    • Extremely dainty and delicate  (oh well, this is the same point written in a different way)
    • Vicious monsters can tear the covers off without even sweating it out.
    • Heavily underrated because, paperbacks have a big brother, ‘the hardcover’ who overshadows him. #poorsweety

    MEANWHILE. HARDCOVERS. 

    THE PROS OF HARDCOVERS:

    • Stronger than paperbacks.
    • Have dustjackets and under-the-jacket beauty.
    • Have a ‘classic’ look of what a book should look like, according to some old souls.
    •  Literary snobs find them more exquisite.
    • A bookworm’s heaven.
    • DECKLED EDGES AHH.
    • JUST PRETTYYY.

    THE CONS OF HARDBACKS:

    • DUDE WHY YOU SO HEAVY?EVERY TIME I TRY LIFTING A STACK OF YOU GUYS, IT FEELS AS IF I’M WEIGHT-LIFTING.
    • Overpriced. DAMN.
    • Overshadow my poor babies..the paperbacks.
    • EXPENSIVE. WHYYY
    • All the new releases are in the hardcover format. Please publishers, do publish the majority of new releases in the paperback format too. I know that few publishers publish new-releases in both the formats simultaneously,but I WANT EVERY SINGLE PUBLISHER ON THIS PLANET’S SURFACE TO DO THE SAME. #worlddomination.
    • COSTLY. COSTLY. COSTLY.
    • Did I mention that they’re wayyyy more expensive than paperbacks? YES? uhh. WHY YOU SO EXPENSIVE DUDE?

    All in all, I just don’t get it. GIVE PAPERBACKS THE HYPE, YO. PERSONALLY, I HAVE TO SAY THAT I PREFER PAPERBACKS WAY MORE THAN HARDBACKS BUT SOMETIMES, THERE ARE BEAUTIFUL COVERS ONLY AVAILABLE IN THE HARCOVER FORMAT. What about you? Hardcovers or Paperbacks? Get rhe discussion heated up in the comments!

    P.S: I know. Excuse this very tiny post. I’m actually travelling, so I had to create posts in advance and schedule them. I’ll try to reply to all of your comments whenever possible (haha, by stealing my mom’s data pack) . But know this,I’ll be back in 5 more days! YAY!

    Thats it! Hope yall liked this post, please do come back for more!

    -Anj xx

    23 thoughts on “Anj’s Ramblings: Paperbacks or Hardbacks?”

    1. Of course I’ll come back for more bookish stuff, Anj! I agree with every single point, you’ve explained each point really well. I prefer hardbacks, but they’re TOO HEAVY! *cries* You know, there’s always a downside to something good.

      Like

    2. I’m all for paperbacks but hardcovers are so damn PRETTYY! They’re great for once in a while treats, but paperbacks covers aren’t all icky either. Well, the most recent books I’ve read are all hardcovers?? Plus point because they’re from the library, minus point because taking them back is sooo hard. 😛

      Liked by 2 people

    3. Hardbacks come with a price, but what else do you sue when in combat? Bookmarks and paperbacks do not suffice, Hardbacks are great weapons and THEY’re so pretty, and better to stroke, and personally, I think they smell better! ALSO AESTHETICS, of course! Okay, they’re a little heavy and like EXPENSIVE but sooo worth it! Though paperbacks are also…great, I guess.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I dunno what to do without a hardcover in a combat. Uh maybe just go in with lots if paperbacks? As far as aesthetics is concerned, I feel that the paperback has a petite feel to it and I do adore the paperback-y aesthetic. BUUUT, at the same time, hardcovers have pretty designs under the dust jacket. I’M A SUCKER FOR ANYTHING AESTHETIC LOL. Hardcovers remain in pristine conditions if not manhandled. Yet, the feel of broken book spines and softened yellow pages is something you often only get from a paperback. AND YET, LEATHER BOUND HARDCOVERS ARE SO AESTHETIC. Lol I’m so bad at choosing a side. Guess I love both? 😂❤

        Liked by 1 person

    4. I don’t mind reading paperbacks, but hardbacks tend to last much longer. I suppose that maybe in the end the price of the hardback is the better investment? I don’t have to worry that it’s going to wear out whereas a few of my paperbacks are literally taped together!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah the question of better investment. I do feel that hardcovers are sturdy and last long but I just feel comfortable reading a paperback because they’re easier to handle. *I DON’T WANT MY 20 BUCKS THAT I SPENT ON A HARDCOVER TO JUST EVAPORATE, SO IMMA HOLD THE BOOK IN POSITIONS WHICH PREVENT ME FROM READING EASILY BUT IN THE END, I WANT THEM IN A VERY PRISTINE CONDITION*😂

        Like

    5. YES ANJ!!! I used to be torn between hardbacks/paperbacks but I think I’ve been leaning towards paperbacks lately! I mean, they’re SO. MUCH. CHEAPER. And yes, some hardcovers might be prettier (and I’ll probably buy those) but I still prefer paperbacks! And they’re so much more comfortable to read and they’re NOT AS HEAVY AS THOSE MONSTROUS HARDBACKS! Great post! ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

    6. AGHAGHAHGHAGHA I honestly do not know which one I like better. They’re both amazing??? I think I’ve always liked paperbacks better because I feel like it has more of an aesthetic (wow May) AND it’s also cheaper. And I’m broke.

      BUT LIKE, I’M STARING AT THE PAPERBACK EDITION OF ILLUMINAE RIGHT NOW. And I remember trying to decide between hardcover and paperback??? The hardcover was SOOO COOOL because it had this plastic jacket (instead of normally paper (is that what it is???)) and it looked so pretty??? But I got the paperback because, again, broke. XD

      Great discussion! I’m in awe of how fast I typed this comment out (I guess I’m very passionate about this???). I am super indecisive when there are great pros for each side of the argument. But I’m leaning towards paperbacks (for now) because #MONEY.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. #TWINSUNITE Guess we are both torn between them, May!! YAAAS FOR PAPERBACK AESTHETIC. And affordability😆

        Holy Zeus, the hardcovers for Illuminae and Gemina are so deliciously prettyyyyy!! DOWNSIDE? I HAVE TO PAY, LIKE, 18 BUCKS FOR EACH ONE OF THEM. But the paperbacks cost only 8. Oh wow. I’m gonna get the paperbacks if I get to purchase some more (Anj is only allowed to purchase books every 4-5 months)❤

        Thank you, May!!

        Liked by 1 person

      1. So true, Danielle!! I’d love my fantasy and book series to be in the hardcover format and contemporaries to be in the paperback format. *these are future plans lol😂* AND I LOVE READING BEFORE GOING TO SLEEP! Eases me up to a great extent🙈

        Liked by 1 person

    7. TEAM PAPERBACK RIGHT HERE. Hardbacks are definitely aesthetically pleasing (and I love my SoC/CK ones) but I find them SO HARD TO READ. Like my hands are just too small 😂 not to mention they cost an absolute fortune to buy in Australia and are nearly impossible to find anyway. The only hardcovers I own besides the SoC duology is the last 3 Harry Potter books (because they were pre-orders) and The Star Touched Queen because I won it in a giveaway.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Not to forget, the weight of hardcovers. SO EXCRUCIATING. And OMGGGG same, Lauren!!!!!!!! *adds a zillion more exclamation marks* Hardcovers are really costly in India too. Sure, you get good deals for 1/4th of them but it’s the underrated books you get the deals for. HOW I WISH THAT WE COULD HARDCOVERS FOR A MUCH MORE REASONABLE PRICE OVER HERE.

        Like

    Leave a Reply

    