Night by Elie Wiesel 


*above details sourced from goodreads*

M Y  R A T I N G: 5/5 STARS. 

I’m sure everyone has heard about the Holocaust through countless re-tellings and survivor tales. I’m glad that the atrocities committed by the Nazis were not hidden away, but were revealed to the world. The Nazi’s ‘Final Solution’ was a terrible punishment inflicted upon the Jews. It still seems impossible that this one man orchestrated all of the bloodshed and such wide-spread misery. Hitler. But, it is a fact that everyone knows today. This mass genocide against the Jews, also called the Holocaust, has had a massive impact on the pages of history. No one believed that the Nazis could go to such an extent as to expel the millions of Jews scattered all over Europe. Yet, they did. Countless Jews died. Souls were lost for eternity. I wonder about what would’ve happened if this one man had not orchestrated such cruelty. It might have altered the course of history. Alas, we can only wonder because this human genocide did indeed happen. 

Elie Wiesel’s ‘Night’ is an autobiographical account of his experience in the Nazi Concentration Camps. This book is quite short, but, it manages to create a huge impact on the reader within the short amount of time. One incredible thing about this book: you’re not a spectator who is watching the events of the Holocaust unfold. You are one of the prisoners. Wiesel’s narrative is prolific. He captures the despair and the gloom perfectly. I totally understand how painful it would have been for him to live those awful days once again while writing this book. ‘Night’ was originally written in French, but was later translated into English by Wiesel’s wife Marion. Wiesel mentions that the French version is longer than the English one as he had to edit and re-edit his book, so that it could easily be translated into English. I’m hoping to get to the French version some day, but for that, I need to learn French. If it means that I get to read a spectacular book, then surely, I’m ready. 

Being someone who is obsessed with History, I knew that this book was going to make it to my favourites list. And that, it did. This book had a bleak tone to it but it also did mention hope and the courage it took to finally catch a glimpse of it in the dreary camps of the Nazis. 

Reading this book has transformed me. Here is to all the people who laid down their lives and their dreams and took their last breath in a gas chamber. Here is to the survivors, who hung on to the thin strand of hope until the very end. Here is to the people who unveiled the unfathomable brutalities inflicted by the Nazis to the world. This is an ode to all the perished souls. 

Neutrality helps the oppressor, never the victim. Silence encourages the tormented, never the tormented. 

One more stab to the heart, one more reason to hate. One less reason to live.

It was pitch dark. I could hear only the violin, and it was as though Juliek’s soul were the bow. He was playing his life. The whole of his life was gliding on the strings–his last hopes, his charred past, his extinguished future. He played as he would never play again…When I awoke, in the daylight, I could see Juliek, opposite me, slumped over, dead. Near him lay his violin, smashed, trampled, a strange overwhelming little corpse.

Never shall I forget that night, the first night in camp, that turned my life into one long night seven times sealed.
Never shall I forget that smoke.
Never shall I forget the small faces of the children whose bodies I saw transformed into smoke under a silent sky.
Never shall I forget those flames that consumed my faith forever.
Never shall I forget the nocturnal silence that deprived me for all eternity of the desire to live.
Never shall I forget those moments that murdered my God and my soul and turned my dreams to ashes.
Never shall I forget those things, even were I condemned to live as long as God Himself.
Never.

Those who kept silent yesterday will remain silent tomorrow.

AND THAT’S IT! Hope you guys liked reading this review! 

-Anj xx

10 thoughts on “Night by Elie Wiesel ”

  1. This is one of those books that I know I must read, but I never seem to get around to it. We are so fortunate to have someone like Wiesel testify. I’m sure it wasn’t easy but I hope that his work will not have been in vain.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Holocaust makes me SO sad. If you joke about it, I swear, I will scream at you because you seriously CANNOT kid about such a serious and horrifying topic. I’ve done lots of research on it (for projects), and it’s just absolutely HORRIBLE how they treat the Jews. I love and hate reading books about the Holocaust because I get so sad, but it’s also such a powerful message. Love this review!

    (And haha sorry for the lack of wittiness in this comment — again, I really don’t joke around with the Holocaust.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We actually had a chapter on Nazism and how it affected the world in History and I SWEAR IT WAS A TRULY DEPRESSING ONE. I feel really bad for all the Jews who were victims of Hitler’s genocide. It’s horrible how Hitler had so much hatred for Jews. THEY ARE PEOPLE. WHY?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

