Reviewing books? *laughs nervously*

Ah writing reviews of books is so easy. Don’t be dramatic.

*Don’t. You. Dare. Complete. That. Sentence.*

SAID NO ONE EVER. DUH.

Who are you, anyway?

I literally have so many issues with reviewing books. And most of the times, I end up sounding like a broken record,repeating the same things again and again. 

Dear professional Reviewers: HOW ARE YOU SO PERFECT IN PENNING YOUR THOUGHTS DOWN SO COHERENTLY?That’s seriously a whole new level of awesome. Please do teach me how NOT to sound boring. Instead,teach me how to be crisp and professional.

Enough of all that pointless blabbering. I’m sure you guys face the same struggles .If you don’t, then you are a genius, okay?

 Here are six reasons why I find it really hard to review books:

*all gifs from le interwebs*

1. Being as clueless as a potato.

You’ve just finished one heck of a book. You’re suffering. You’re crying. UGLY CRYING. And then you pick yourself up, hop onto WordPress to write a review for that book. As soon as your fingers hit the keyboard you’re mind goes blank. You’re just like, “Hey, I had a lot to talk about. I’m not an amnesiac. Or am I?” 

So you just start hitting random alphabets and it’s basically ASFDSHDJEDND.

2. Geez. I like word-vomiting.

Raise your hands if you have ever done this. I sure have. Since you’re totally blank, your feels get the better of you and they completely hijack your brain.

Symptoms that show that you’ve been a victim of this beast:

A) What’s that sound you hear? Ah that’s qwerty crying because of the pressure you’ve been putting on it.

B) Fingers aching? That’s okay. I’ll get this review done first. *that’s sarcasm for you*

C)  Bloodshot eyes? You bet.

D) Feeling the urge to scream externally but you’re too busy screaming internally.

3. Auto-Correct and Grammatical Errors

Obviously, if you’re going 120 km/hr, you are bound to become a prey of auto-Correct. Not to mention the truck loads of punctuation marks you’ve missed, completely messing up grammar*so much that it hardly makes any sense*

REVIEWS BECOME EXTREMELY HARD TO WRITE BECAUSE OF THIS ONE FACT.

Yo where da precision at, now, DUDE? 

 4. Editing sentences and re-editing the editted sentences. 

I like my reviews to be perfect. PURR-FECT. This can be a problem sometimes and that’s maybe the reason why you guys get tiny posts from Anj. Editing cuts out all the rants outta it. But I suck at editing, so I have to RE-EDIT the entire lot. Deal with it. My reviews are either too small or too large. There’s no in-between. And not being able to balance that is so.frustrating. 

*that’s maybe the reason why Anj posts reviews inconsistently*

I’ll have the time of my life reading my fellow book bloggers’ reviews. But posting one? Here’s the excuse I give: I’m lazy. And so, my friends, I may have read the book two months ago, but the review will arrive only after long stretches of days of procrastinating and freaking out. 

5. Coherency? What’s that? 

Talk about being organized. My reviews are all over the place. I’m not even kidding. In the first paragraph of my review, I’ll be very systematic and then in the next, it’s all GUSHING. GUSHING EVERYWHERE. To patch up the lack of coherency, GIFS to the rescue. 

I love gifs but I find myself using one for every paragraph. *but then, one part of my brain is always ordering me to use more, thereby crumbling my resolve* YOU’VE BEEN WARNED. Anj’s reviews are gush fests. 

6. Does anyone even read my reviews? 

We’ve all been through this phase. Putting your blood, sweat and tears into your reviews (no matter how incoherent it is) and then it’s not cared for by the world. 

No, but seriously. Does anybody even read reviews now-a-days? Ahhh. *cries*

THAT’S ABOUT IT! HOPE YOU GUYS LIKED READING THIS POST!! 

Until next time, 

-Anj

38 thoughts on “Reviewing books? *laughs nervously*

  1. Mahriya @ MyBookishLife says:

    gosh, this post is RELATABLE!!!
    I hardly remember ANYTHING when it comes to reviewing books and my word vomiting never justifies the book’s greatness? I make the book sound really weird and ugly and I DON’T WANT TO DO THAt. AND THE GRAMMATICAL ERRORS. UGH.
    Does anyone read my reviews? Especially if it’s an unknown book and no-one’s read it and so no one reads the review. ALSO, how do you make sense in a review? Like, do you recap the whole book or just gush out references and hope for the best?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anj @ seaweed books says:

      Ikr. I simply cannot, for once, NOT type in fangirl mode. It’s maddeningly frustrating. YES THE STRUGGLE YOU FACE WHEN YOU READ A NOT-SO-WELL KNOWN BOOK AND YOU ARE LITERALLY WAITING DO ANYONE WHO WANTS TO LISTEN TO YA. *see, I told you, I cannot not type in caps* My reviewing pattern? Just skip off all the spoilers bits (kinda) and crash, face first into the gush😂No plan whatsoever

      Liked by 1 person

  2. May @ Forever and Everly says:

    BAD ANJ. THERE WERE TWO 4’S IN THIS LIST. But honestly this post is too relatable. I have a mix of followers, so will my readers enjoy reading reviews??? And omgggggg like I CANNOT remember everything that I want to talk about from the book. I’m just like “and um… THAT happened”. At least I don’t forget charries’ names??? Sometimes I have no idea how to format my review, or what to say. And maybe I just end up ranting. Which is bad. XD

    Like

  3. Tiana (The Book Raven) says:

    I LOVE THIS!!! I honestly don’t have a lot of these issues… I’m sorry I have to be that person… but I simply always have more to say about a book then less… it’s just cause my thoughts are always more clear in writing anyway. Anywho, I found your post to be HILARIOUS and I’m so glad I read it!

    Like

  4. Sakina says:

    Looool I totally get this! I was going to write my ACOMAF review but gave up because I can’t bother trying to get my thoughts down. I just finished reading The Wrath and the Dawn and I really want to write a review cause I’ve been trying to review every book I read this year, but it’s so hard to be coherent and I just wanna read and enjoy the book and not have to worry about writing about my opinions. But I also feel like that is kind of the purpose of my blog, so I don’t know anymore lol

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jackie @ toomuchofabooknerd says:

    This is so relatable!!! Especially the last point because my review tend to get the least likes and comments. And it sucks especially when I’ve put MY HEART AND SOUL into a review and it has taken me HOURS to write and edit it (and re-edit it) and I’m quite proud of how it turned out and then it’s just like……… ok then 😭😭

    Like

  6. Melissa @ BookNerdMomo says:

    I can relate to this so much! Especially being a clueless potato and word vomiting. I swear I use the word loved and love and adored in my reviews like they’re going out of style! And then my reviews almost always end up being way too long because it’s like once I start actually writing down my thoughts I can’t stop going off in tangents. I spent days editing them because of this and even then they still end up being so long. Great post!! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anj @ seaweed books says:

      Well, on the contrary, my posts are wayyy too short. Like, I try to write all of the weird stuff that comes into my brain but when I start typing, it just vanishes. That’s the reason why my posts don’t even cross 800 words. They’re just 500-600😂 *cute lil midgets*❤

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    THIS POST SPEAKS TO ME ON SO MANY LEVELS. I struggle with reviews SO much, which is ironic because I thought they’d be one of the easiest things to do when I started my blog. Ooops. I had NO idea. I constantly procrastinate writing them because they’re the woooorst. I literally have no idea what I’m even saying when I write them. I honestly just hit the keyboard and hope for the best 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anj @ seaweed books says:

      AHHHA YAAS. Book Reviews are so hard to write. I’m like, “Wait.. an I saying the right thing? Are the die-hard fans of this book gonna ambush me with their weapons fir not describing the book properly?” yup. Very easy indeed. 😂

      Like

  8. Summer @ Xingsings says:

    /raises hand/ I am so guilty of word vomiting in my review posts. That’s probably why a lot of them are over 1K words, which is horrifying to admit. I’m also really bad at editing (because after reading my review 10 times I’m just too sick/lazy to read what I wrote again, haha).

    Anyway, this is hilarious! And so relatable. Fantastic post, Anj!

    Summer

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

