5 FAVOURITE POEMS

HI THERE! In case you didn’t know, Anj has an obsession with poetry. She absolutely adores reading poetry. Cut that. She devours poetry. SO YA KNOW WHAT THAT MEANS? Time for a favourite poems post, people! In this post, I’ll be sharing 5 of my favourite poems with you unicorns! Hope you like reading it.

*DISCLAIMER: All of the poetry pieces mentioned here have been penned by the mentioned poet/poetess. I’m just here to share my favourite ones and spread the love for poetry*

1. MIRROR by Sylvia Plath

I am silver and exact. I have no preconceptions.
Whatever I see I swallow immediately
Just as it is, unmisted by love or dislike.
I am not cruel, only truthful ‚
The eye of a little god, four-cornered.
Most of the time I meditate on the opposite wall.
It is pink, with speckles. I have looked at it so long
I think it is part of my heart. But it flickers.
Faces and darkness separate us over and over.

Now I am a lake. A woman bends over  me,
Searching my reaches for what she really is.
Then she turns to those liars, the candles or the moon.
I see her back, and reflect it faithfully.
She rewards me with tears and an agitation of hands.
I am important to her. She comes and goes.
Each morning it is her face that replaces the darkness.
In me she has drowned a young girl, and in me an old woman
Rises toward her day after day, like a terrible fish.

 

2. The Brook by Alfred Lord Tennyson

I come from haunts of coot and hern,
I make a sudden sally
And sparkle out among the fern,
To bicker down a valley.

By thirty hills I hurry down,
Or slip between the ridges,
By twenty thorpes, a little town,
And half a hundred bridges.

Till last by Philip’s farm I flow
To join the brimming river,
For men may come and men may go,
But I go on for ever.

I chatter over stony ways,
In little sharps and trebles,
I bubble into eddying bays,
I babble on the pebbles.

With many a curve my banks I fret
By many a field and fallow,
And many a fairy foreland set
With willow-weed and mallow.

I chatter, chatter, as I flow
To join the brimming river,
For men may come and men may go,
But I go on for ever.

I wind about, and in and out,
With here a blossom sailing,
And here and there a lusty trout,
And here and there a grayling,

And here and there a foamy flake
Upon me, as I travel
With many a silvery waterbreak
Above the golden gravel,

And draw them all along, and flow
To join the brimming river
For men may come and men may go,
But I go on for ever.

I steal by lawns and grassy plots,
I slide by hazel covers;
I move the sweet forget-me-nots
That grow for happy lovers.

I slip, I slide, I gloom, I glance,
Among my skimming swallows;
I make the netted sunbeam dance
Against my sandy shallows.

I murmur under moon and stars
In brambly wildernesses;
I linger by my shingly bars;
I loiter round my cresses;

And out again I curve and flow
To join the brimming river,
For men may come and men may go,
But I go on for ever.

3. I CANNOT REMEMBER MY MOTHER by Rabindranath Tagore

I cannot remember my mother

only sometimes in the midst of my play

a tune seems to hover over my playthings,

the tune of some song that she used to

hum while rocking my cradle.

I cannot remember my mother

but when in the early autumn morning

the smell of the shiuli flowers floats in the air

the scent of the morning service in the temple

comes to me as the scent of my mother.

I cannot remember my mother

only when from my bedroom window I send

my eyes into the blue of the distant sky,

I feel that the stillness of

my mother’s gaze on my face

has spread all over the sky.

4. SONG OF THE FLOWER by Khalil Gibran

I am a kind word uttered and repeated
By the voice of Nature;
I am a star fallen from the
Blue tent upon the green carpet.
I am the daughter of the elements
With whom Winter conceived;
To whom Spring gave birth; I was
Reared in the lap of Summer and I
Slept in the bed of Autumn.At dawn I unite with the breeze
To announce the coming of light;
At eventide I join the birds
In bidding the light farewell.

The plains are decorated with
My beautiful colors, and the air
Is scented with my fragrance.

As I embrace Slumber the eyes of
Night watch over me, and as I
Awaken I stare at the sun, which is
The only eye of the day.

I drink dew for wine, and hearken to
The voices of the birds, and dance
To the rhythmic swaying of the grass.

I am the lover’s gift; I am the wedding wreath;
I am the memory of a moment of happiness;
I am the last gift of the living to the dead;
I am a part of joy and a part of sorrow.

But I look up high to see only the light,
And never look down to see my shadow.
This is wisdom which man must learn.

5. INDIAN WEAVERS by Sarojini Naidu

WEAVERS, weaving at break of day,
Why do you weave a garment so gay? . . .
Blue as the wing of a halcyon wild,
We weave the robes of a new-born child.

Weavers, weaving at fall of night,
Why do you weave a garment so bright? . . .
Like the plumes of a peacock, purple and green,
We weave the marriage-veils of a queen.

Weavers, weaving solemn and still,
What do you weave in the moonlight chill? . . .
White as a feather and white as a cloud,
We weave a dead man’s funeral shroud.


 


These are a handful of the many poems that I love! Again, each poet/poetess seems to have their own style and I ADORE these poems so much because I always feel the emotion which these deliver to the readers.

That said, hope you guys liked this post and let me know if I should do another one soon.

-Anj xx

12 thoughts on “5 FAVOURITE POEMS”

    1. Oh. My. God. ‘I know Why the Caged Bird Sings’ by Maya Angelou is so poetic and haunting. I love that piece! And yes, everybody needs some poetry in their lives! Glad to know that you liked this post! More favourite poems will follow! ❤

      Like

  1. I have never been a big fan of poetry and I think the reason for that is all the analyzing I had to do in school! And I was never good at understanding metaphors etc.
    But I’m very glad I stumbled across this post because these poems are beautiful! I think my favourite out of these is Song of the Flower ❤ Great post, you should totally do another one!

    Like

    1. Aha. That’s the main reason why I like to write my poems in a lucid language! Although I love reading poetry and analyzing it, with all the metaphors, sometimes it indeed gets tiring. Kahlil Gibran has many wonderful pieces similar to ‘Song of the Flower’. One such poem is ‘Song of the Rain’. What I adore about his poetry is that they all tell a story and are an ode to something. I’m so happy that you enjoyed this post! I’ll try to do another one of these soon in the future! 🌌

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is such a great feature! I rarely see poetry featured in the book blogosphere. I am a fan of the Romantics and Keats myself. Also Anglo-Saxon poetry.

    Like

      1. Ooh, Robert Frost is good, too! But probably I like him because he hearkens back to the Romantics a bit. I like my poetry with things like meter and rhyme. I don’t always get modern poetry, particularly when the whole poem just looks like complete prose sentences separated into random lines.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

