The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

Is anything sadder than the sound of a god hitting a pile of garbage bags? 

Goodreads: seaweedbooks

*all details above sourced from goodreads*

HOLA READER FAM! I FINISHED THE HIDDEN ORACLE BY NONE OTHER THAN THAN OUR PRECIOUS UNCLE RICK!!! God bless him for giving us such fast paced reads.

MY RATING: 3.5/5 STARS

*all gifs from le interwebs*

I highly, highly enjoyed reading this book, but I do feel that I might have enjoyed it a tad bit more if I had read it without frequent spans of no reading at all. (Go figure) Uncle Rick really gets your funny bone and of course, you do have lots of sass and pride *peacock pride bleh* and incessant complaining in the first three chapters (mainly from Apollo, no, you totally didn’t guess that) and a kid who attacks people with raspberries. Throw in some goons there. PERFECT. And then, we meet old seaweed brain. That’s sorta where the action begins. 
Enough of all those things you’ll understand if you’ve read the book. I do not want this to be a very spoilery review, but please be seated. LET’S GO FOR A RIDE ON APOLLO’S GOLDEN CHARIOT, SHALL WE? 

Things I liked:

  • IMPECCABLE SENSE OF HUMOUR FROM UNCLE RICK’S SIDE. 

Gosh. Do I even need to elaborate. Apollo had exactly the right amount of pride, sass and complains regarding his ‘un-goddy’ flab and acne. 

Apollo when he knows that he’s got flab and acne.

  • MEG MCCAFFREY. 

YO YOU GOT A GANGSTA WITH A MUSHY HEART HERE BRUH.  PLUS, SOME MORE OF EXTRA SASS. AND FRUIT POWER. AND A KARPOI PEACHES.  (AKA THE BADASS WITH THE SOFT HEART)

  • Lester’s Haikus

Damn. Damn. Damn. DAYUM. HILARIOUS TO THE CORE. HERE’S PROOF:

Aquaman driving

Couldn’t possibly be worse

Oh wait, now it is. 

Not convinced yet? Have a look here, peasant:

My bus is in flames, 

My son is older than me

Please, Zeus, make it stop. 

WAIT THERE’S MORE:

Scale of one to ten

How would you rate your demise? 

Thanks for your input. 

  • PERCY 

DO I NEED TO EXPLAIN MYSELF. I NAMED THIS BLOG IN HONOUR OF HIM. It was so good meeting him again and I’m definitely happy that he hasn’t lost his snarky humour and sass. 

Speaking of sass, we also meet one of our other sass masters, who puts the sass in assassinate. YEAH IT’S NICO. *you thought of someone else right?* 

  • SOLANGELO 

This ship makes me happy. HAPPY. *hums Happy by Pharell Williams and behaves like a happy hippie* I LOVED THEIR SHIP SO MUCH AND IT WAS SO SATISFYING TO KNOW THAT UNCLE RICK DECIDED TO GO WITH IT! (Excuse my all caps fangirling)

  • A TALKING ARROW. 

I SHALT ASSIT. STARTEST THOU:PLAGUEY, PLAGUEY, PLAGUEY. 

FIE! TOO STRONG IS THY PLAGUE. THU CHANTING SUCKETH. 

*minor spoilers*

  • A very ‘HAPPY’ ending. *cryptically speaking. 

THAT IS, WE MEET SOMEONE CALLED HAPPY AND HE’S ACTUALLY A VERY OLD FRIEND OF OURS. Plus, we meet a person who vanished of the surface of the planet but comes back. *AKA you know who that it* Tofu Taco Expert.

WARNING : This maybe the only coherent part of the review. 

All summed up, I really adored this book. I’m hoping to love the next book more than this first one! Plus, my fangirl heart is leaping up and down due to all the amazing things this book was made up of. 

That’s it! Hope y’all liked this very incoherent review of yours truly. And that’s about it! 

-Anj xx

3 thoughts on “The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

