Mini Book Reviews #1

Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa  Lahiri

Jhumpa Lahiri is indeed terrific with words because she will destroy you with only twenty-six letters. I’m serious. I read her book ‘The Lowland’ two months back and I was simply awe struck and that’s how I’m feeling now all over again. The only problem I had was that it wasn’t that impacting as ‘The Lowland’ had been but I shouldn’t be comparing them because both are of a COMPLETELY different setting although at some point the themes intertwine. Still, this short story collection was mesmerising and completely fixating.

One issue I had with this book:

I felt that I wasn’t really rooting for any of the characters in any of the short stories. I felt disconnected from their worlds but it was because this was a short story collection and the focus shifts from one character to another. Maybe that was the reason after all.

Get a copy of this book here

He owned an expensive camera that required thought before you pressed the shutter, and I quickly became his favorite subject, round-faced, missing teeth, my thick bangs in need of a trim. They are still the pictures of myself I like best, for they convey that confidence of youth I no longer possess, especially in front of a camera. 

The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket 

I ended up really liking this book but found it kind of boring in the middle. Of course, for a first book this was really entertaining, yet, I didn’t love it as much as I had loved The Wide Window. Count Olaf is despicable and evil that I just wonder how he can gather every ounce of energy he has for dedicating  himself to be such an evil man with this crazy obsession for ‘eyes’. Violet, Klaus and Sunny were all great characters and I loved how Lemony Snicket brought in the importance of books into this book. All that said, the illustrations were on point and I loved the way they were done. Hoping to finish this series this year. (Full series review as soon as I finish the series)

Get a copy here

Miss Marple’s Final Cases by Agatha Christie

Christie definitely is an author I admire, but this book was not one of her ‘mindblowing’ creations. I felt that there was no real suspense in few of the stories and am disappointed with this book. However, I really enjoyed ‘The Dressmaker’s Doll’ and ‘In the Glass Darkly”, hence the 2 stars. You’ll fly through this book,that I can assure. It is a very quick and short read, but it doesn’t stand out like few of her other books I’ve read. Entertaining but falls short in places.

Get a copy here

Hey and that’s it! Hope y’all liked reading these mini reviews! What were your thoughts on any of these book? Let me know down below! 

-Anj xx

6 thoughts on “Mini Book Reviews #1”

    1. Oh sure!! I think they make some hella short and crisp reads and really speed up your reading progress. A review is definitely coming once I finish the series! ❤🌌

      Like

Leave a Reply

