And The Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini

They tell me I must wade into waters, where I will soon drown. Before I march in, I leave this on shore for you. I pray you find it, sister, so you know what was in my heart as I went under..

*above details sourced from goodreads*

MY RATING: 5/5 STARS
I’m glad this was my first read of 2017.

I’M BLESSED. LITERALLY BLESSED. GOD BLESS KHALED HOSSEINI. 
So the review of this book is coming two months late. Typical Anj fashion. Anyways, all of my feelings are as muddled as they were then, so do NOT expect a very coherent review because you are going to get semi-tongue tied sentences in this one. Grab some tissues (I’ve got some here too) and let’s get started. 

Khaled Hosseini is the master of beautiful narration. I mean look at this: 

I suspect the truth is that we’reall waiting, all of us, against insurmountable odds for something extraordinary to happen to us. 

He’ll have you tearing your eyes out and you.simply.will.have.to.shed.those.tears. Mark my words, if you are going to read this book, your feelings are all going to be going like this:

And then, we have our wonderful characters. Pari, Abdullah,Nila,Mr Wahdati, Parwana and so many more. They literally make this story such an unforgettable one. I’M SURE ALL OF YOU WOULD’VE BEEN CRYING YOUR EYES OUT WHILE READING THIS BOOK. 

Another aspect I loved about this book was the leap it took into the future and showed Pari and Abdullah from a very young age, their separation and their old age. THAT SIMPLY MADE THIS STORY AN EMOTIONAL ROLLERCOASTER. 

Perhaps, while re-reading this book, I have to take more notes and update this review in the future. As I told y’all, my thoughts are all jumbled up and talking anything more than how extremely beautiful this book was will lead to a full on rant. Anyways, here are few gifs that sum up the whole book for you:

*le gifs from le interwebs*

*Also, I’m a huge Leo fan so, that explains all those Leo gifs I guess?*

Hope you guys liked reading this post! -Anj xx

2 thoughts on “And The Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini

Leave a Reply

