Book Review: Landline by Rainbow Rowell 

She thought he might have looked back at her once, before the van turned the corner-her hands froze in the air. And then they were gone.

About the Book:
Title: Landline 

Published: 2014

Author: Rainbow Rowell 

Edition : Paperback

Summary:  Georgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble; it has been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and Neal still loves her, deeply — but that almost seems beside the point now.

Maybe that was always beside the point.

Two days before they’re supposed to visit Neal’s family in Omaha for Christmas, Georgie tells Neal that she can’t go. She’s a TV writer, and something’s come up on her show; she has to stay in Los Angeles. She knows that Neal will be upset with her — Neal is always a little upset with Georgie — but she doesn’t expect him to pack up the kids and go home without her.

When her husband and the kids leave for the airport, Georgie wonders if she’s finally done it. If she’s ruined everything.

That night, Georgie discovers a way to communicate with Neal in the past. It’s not time travel, not exactly, but she feels like she’s been given an opportunity to fix her marriage before it starts…

Is that what she’s supposed to do?

Or would Georgie and Neal be better off if their marriage never happened? 

*all the details above sourced from goodreads* 

MY RATING:  4/5 stars

I felt that this book was pure beautiful. It was so much better than the other two books of Rowell I’ve read so far. OMG. I can’t even. As soon as I finished the book, I jumped on and scrambled for papers for writing my thoughts and opinions on this book so that I don’t forget details. Y’all know. 

‘Landline’ is definitely a book I would read again. It’s just this amazing blend of family, friends, love and life. It had so much to it that I felt Rowell clearly has proven herself ‘worth it’ amongst people who didn’t love her previous books. Like me. Contrary to many others who did not like this book as much as her other books, I felt that this book was my ‘type’ or ‘my kind’. The first page itself got me hooked onto this incredible story. 

Now I’m gonna jump onto the characters and the plot. The characters in this book were so realistic and Rowell has indeed brought them to life. They were all just brilliantly potrayed and took the story in the direction it went. Kudos to her for including diverse characters throughout the book. I was so happy by this that I can’t even stop being grateful to her. Deal with it. The protagonist Georgie is a really complex character. She has her flaws, her positivity, her caring nature that has made her some one who is definitely worth being remembered. 

The plot never failed to keep my nose buried in the book and was so entertaining and quirky (typical Rainbow Rowell style) Some parts moved me so much that I had to close the book for a minute and ponder about it. Although this book was a tad bit confusing at times, it drives me to finish it in a day. My favourite book of Rowell so far. And rightly so. 

Now this part is gonna be all in full on ‘Fangirl mode’ (get that reference)*winky face*. Huh why? Cuz I’ve got a KAH-RAY-ZEE lot to say about the course of this books and three of its characters and some more poking around over facts. And theories. And possible answers to few unanswered questions. 

First, about Seth’s character throughout the book. Seth is this hilarious guy who is the best friend of Georgie as y’all know. He has a very important role in the book as he makes Georgie realise ‘things’. In the beginning half of the book, Seth was in a very large part of the chunk of the book. Towards the end, well, he kinda faded away a bit? I DUNNO. I wanted to see his character’s journey or possible clues to what may have happened to him afterwards. Rainbow, you are so cheeky. Why? Why? Whyyyy???? OH AND WHAT THE HECK HAPPENS TO THEIR SHOW?? I mean the one he and Georgie were scripting together? I NEED ANSWERS, RAINBOW. 

Siriusly.

Next, Neal and Georgie. OTP GUYS!!!!! O. TAY. PAYYYY. AHHHAHAHAAA. So much muddles up thoughts but OMG their love story is so beautiful. Forever. I’m going down with this ship. And several more. From different fandoms because duh we have hella 50 otps. They make me fangirl so hard. Legit. 

Now comes the landline. This thing right here. This is a port key sort of thing. It allows Georgie to communicate with the Neal who belongs 20 years back. And that is the element that was a bit confusing. All the talk about Destiny and fate somewhat confused me and thankfully, by the time I finished it, it was much clearer and better. Seriously though, the Landline did wonders and was an integral part of the story, so obviously it had to be the title of the novel. It allowed Georgie to realise that mistakes can be corrected over time. And also, the Landline proved that magic exists. I’m still waiting for my Hogwarts letter. 

EXACTLY. MAGIC EXISTS.

Last but not least, the families of Neal and Georgie. They gave this cosy touch to the story that truly and really did warn my heart. It brought in several aspects from their points of views and honestly, it made the story whole and simply amazing. Oh and did I mention Georgie and Neal’s two little daughters. They are so adorable <3😍
Heather, Georgie’s sister was perfectly potrayed and I applaud Rowell for creating this wide array of diverse characters. Scotty, who works with Georgie; her step father, Heather’s girlfriend. Marvellous job right there. 

Aaannnd that’s it! Thanks for spending your time reading this girl rant. Love ya! 

Stay amazhang! And stay tuned for more stuff lol. -Anj

 

Leave a Reply

